Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

2008 News Releases

Longwood recognizes faculty & staff at annual employee banquet

February 28, 2008

Sevice Award 2008 From left are retirees Patsy Scruggs, John Arehart, Vacelo Moore, Wayne Meshejian and Bobbie Burton.
Longwood University staff and faculty were recognized in the annual Employee Service Awards Program and ARAMARK Banquet, held Feb. 15 in Dorrill Dining Hall.

“As I look back over my years at Longwood University,” President Patricia Cormier told faculty and staff, “I give thanks for the privilege of serving this community and working with you…Without you, Farmville and the greater community would not have so many community service volunteers. You do so much: Meals on Wheels, FACES, Waterworks Players, Scouts, Little League coaching, Friends of the Appomattox River, Rails to Trails, Jaycees, Moton Museum, Prince Edward County School Board, hospital board and many church activities, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg...I thank each of your for your devotion and dedication to Longwood University and to the greater community. You are the models for citizen leadership.”

Faculty and staff members who retired in the past year were recognized. Those staff members  are Linda Bickford (Facilities Management), Bobbie Burton (University Advancement), Tommy England (Facilities Management), Vacelo Moore (Alumni Relations), Brenda Nagy (Cashiering & Student Accounts) and Patsy Scruggs (Career Center). Those faculty members are John Arehart (Mathematics & Computer Science), Wayne Meshejian (Chemistry & Physics), James Pirkle (Education & Special Education), and Thomas Williams (Music).

The following employees received awards for their Longwood service:

40 years: James Crowl and Betty Woodie.

35 years: Mark Baldridge and Robbert Webber.

30 years: Pamela Evans, Jennie Hardy, Geoffrey Orth, Lissa Power-deFur and Thomas Witt.

25 years: Brenda Atkins, Kent Booty, Moffatt Evans, Sandy Hall, Patricia Howe and Cynthia Owen.

20 years: William Abrams, Mary Fran Bell-Johnson, Raymond Brastow, Kathy Charleston, Theresa Clark, Chrys Kosarchyn, Ruth Meese, Douglas Poulston, Gordon Van Ness and Lucie Zehner.

15 years: David Carkenord, David Dunman, Sharon Emerson-Stonnell, Ruth Gowin, Ronald Jennings, Stephen Keith, Charles Kinzer, James Munson, Tim Pierson, Larry Robertson, Charles Ross, Cynthia Thompson, Anne Vaughan, Karin Warner, Rodney Williams and Walter Witschey.

10 years: David Bennett: William Benninghove, Norm Bregman, Cecilia Culler, Kevin Fillman, Janet Gibson, Mike Gillian, Wesley Hackney, Penelope Howard, Lisa Kinzer, Paul Moriarty, Rebecca Nelson, David Pletcher, Susie Ramsey, Ellen Ranson and Kathy Riley.

Five years: Diane Arnold, Gretchen Braun, Patrick Breen, Debbie Bruce, Scott Cole, James Davis, Dan Dillon, Wade Edwards, Mark Fink, Jeff Gore, Edward Kinman, Eric Koger, Kristen McAleavey, Sue McCullough, Lisa Mooney, Kelly Nelson, Joan Price, William Reinson, Carl Riden, Laura Sanchez, Donna Simpson and Pamela Tracy.