Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

2010 News Releases

Longwood junior chosen university’s McGowan Scholar

March 31, 2010

Jake Allen Longwood University junior Earl J. “Jake” Allen is the university’s William G. McGowan Scholar for 2009-10.

Longwood University junior Earl J. "Jake" Allen is the university's William G. McGowan Scholar for 2009-10.

The McGowan Scholars Program, made possible by the McGowan Charitable Fund, provides selected colleges and universities with scholarships to help business students. It funds one full-tuition scholarship for an undergraduate or graduate student at each school. Recipients must be at least a rising senior with a 3.5 grade-point average (GPA) and must demonstrate "unusual promise and leadership potential."

Allen, of Farmville, who will graduate in May 2011, is majoring in business administration with a concentration in finance. He is a member of Phi Kappa Phi national honor society, business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma, and Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, and he has a 3.75 GPA. He transferred to Longwood in August 2008 after a year at Christopher Newport University, where he was a member of the President's Leadership Program.

Allen has worked as a full-time teller at Citizens Bank and Trust Company (CBT) in Farmville since Dec. 15 last year, and he also worked there during the summers of 2008 and 2009. He did a two-week accounting internship at CBT at the beginning of last summer. He was a full-time Longwood student in fall 2009 and is taking seven credit hours this semester.

He is a graduate of Prince Edward County High School and is the son of Gregory and Elizabeth Allen. He is a member of Farmville United Methodist Church and helps with the local Meals on Wheels program.

Allen plans to pursue a career in banking, possibly in lending or financial advising.

This is the fifth year the award has been given. Previous recipients were Jillian Klein, a 2009 graduate, Mandalyn Thompson ('08), Jennifer Arthur ('07), and David Ellis ('06).