Text Size Default Text SizeDefault Text Size Large Text SizeLarge Text Size Largest Text SizeLargest Text Size Print Print this Page

2011 Faculty & Staff News

Longwood's dean of the College of Education and Human Services elected to the AACTE Board of Directors

March 21, 2011

Dr. Deneese Jones

Dr. Deneese Jones, dean of the College of Education and Human Services, was recently elected to a three-year term on the Board of Directors of the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (AACTE).

Jones, whose term began March 1, is one of five newly elected members of the board, which governs the AACTE and is composed of both elected and appointed members. She will attend two board meetings a year, one each spring at the annual meeting and another meeting during the fall.

The AACTE is a national alliance of educator preparation programs dedicated to the highest quality of professional development of teachers and school leaders. The organization maintains a constant presence on Capitol Hill, believes in consensus-building on education matters that are consistent with support for diverse learners, and provides members with vital communication regarding policy issues and events as well as publications targeting various areas of interest.

Additionally, Jones has been selected to the teaching faculty of the 2011 AACTE Leadership Academy, which will be June 26-30 in Seattle. The academy provides intensive preparation for new deans, department chairs and directors by drawing upon experienced and distinguished professionals who are all leaders in the field of teacher education. The other teaching faculty for the 2011 AACTE Leadership Academy will include four deans of the college/school of education at their respective institutions, Dr. Wanda Blanchett (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Dr. Sam Evans (Western Kentucky University), Dr. Walt Gmelch (University of San Francisco) and Dr. Cindy Gnadinger (Bellarmine University), and Dr. Kathe Rasch, NCATE coordinator at the University of South Florida.