INCITE is the undergraduate research journal for the Cook-Cole College of Arts and Sciences at Longwood University.

Dedicated to publishing the best work of undergraduate students across the disciplines, INCITE is a faculty-reviewed journal produced at the end of each academic year. Students who submit their original work to INCITE are eligible for a series of monetary awards, and their work is showcased during the university-wide Research Symposium.

Student work from all disciplines of Arts and Sciences is welcome!

View our Current Issue, Incite Volume 8


28 September 2018   
Submission deadline for material from the previous spring semester.

16 November 2018    
Advisory Board comments/reader’s review will be sent to the author.

14 December 2018    
Submission deadline for material from the fall semester.

14 January 2019         
Advisory Board comments/reader’s review will be sent to the author.

26 February 2019      
Review of submissions by the Incite Advisory Board after all author revisions, copy-editing and proof-reading has been done for the Incite awards.

28 February 2019       
Final edited submissions, tables, photos, will be sent to the Design Lab for production.

15–18 April 2019       
The awards ceremony will be scheduled.

23 April 2019             
University-wide Research Day: students whose work will appear in Incite or who have won an Incite award, will be listed as such in the program and will have a badge or ribbon for their presentation.

Summer 2019            
Copies of Incite sent to award winners, faculty Mentors, advisory board members and department chairs.

Incite Faculty Advisory Board Members (2018-2019)

  • Larissa Tracy, Editor (English)
  • Sarah Porter (Biological/chemical sciences)
  • Christopher F. Labosier (Environmental Science and Geography)
  • Barbara Newton (History)
  • Leslie Cook-Day (Theatre)
  • Wade Lough (Graphic Design/Design Lab)
  • Chris Register (Art/Design Lab)
  • Jennifer Barlow (Spanish language)
  • Sarah Varela (German, pedagogy and literature)
  • Benjamin Topham (Physics)
  • Tim Ritzert (Psychology)
  • Scott Grether (Sociology)
  • Corey Call (Criminal Justice)