Wind Symphony Information


        The Longwood Wind Symphony is a 60-70 member ensemble which includes members from all schools and departments of the university. They have premiered new works by such composers as Steven Barton, Rob Blankenship, Jonathan Bruce Brown, Harry Bulow and Martin Mailman, as well as conductor Gordon Ring.

        Numerous guest soloists have appeared with the group including Matt Niess (U.S. Army Blues), David Niethamer (Richmond Symphony), Dr. Neal Seipp (University of Central Missouri), and Longwood faculty soloists Dr. Charles Kinzer, Dr. Lisa Kinzer, Dr. Christopher Swanson, Dr. Jennifer Capaldo, Michael Schutz, Dr. Christopher Gassler, Stephanie Ycaza, Patricia Werrell and Sally Irwin. Guest conductors have included Capt. Frank Byrne (U.S. Marine Band), Dr. Russell Coleman (University of Central Missouri), Dr. Glenn Nierman (University of Nebraska) and many composer/conductors.