The Lafayette Hotel
in 1840, The Lafayette on Main Street in Stanardsville, Virginia has had
a long and rich history. The hotel was built by William Lafayette Pritchett
to accommodate the numerous travelers that streamed through Stanardsville.
The Lafayette is directly adjacent to the Spotswood Trail, now U.S. Route
33. Stanardsville was the last stop for stagecoaches and other travelers
who headed across the Blue Ridge Mountains to the Shenandoah Valley.
Immediately adjacent to the hotel is a separate two-story building designed
in the early 19th century for slaves, which is still standing today. The
Lafayette continued as a hotel until the turn of the century, except for
a brief time during the Civil War when the building was used as a hospital
to house wounded soldiers. Around the turn of the century The Lafayette
changed ownership and became a boardinghouse for area teachers and traveling
In addition to offering a place to sleep The Lafayette boasted a second floor ballroom for recreating and a store on the first floor to re-supply travelers. The Lafayette also housed a milliner's shop and the first telephone exchange in Stanardsville.