Carl Harvey
Associate Professor of School Librarianship

Phone (434) 395-2608
Department Education and Counseling
Office Hull 233

Carl A. Harvey II is an Associate Professor of School Librarianship at Longwood University. Previously, he was an elementary school librarian in Indiana for 17 years. He was the 2011-2012 President of the American Association of School Librarians, the 2009 President of the Indiana Library Federation and the 2004-2005 President of the Association for Indiana Media Educators. In 2014, he served as a member of the Association for Library Services to Children’s Randolph Caldecott Medal Committee.

He has published several articles in various professional journals, and currently serves as editor of School Library Connection. He has written seven books for school librarians -- The Library Media Specialist in the Writing Process (co-authored with Marge Cox and Susan Page); No School Library Left Behind: Leadership, School Improvement, and the Media Specialist; The 21st Century Elementary Library Media Program; Adult Learners: School Librarians and Professional Development; Leading the Common Core Initiative: A Guide for K-6 Librarians (co-authored with Linda Mills); The 21st Century Elementary School Library Program: Managing for Results, 2nd Edition; School Library Management, 8th Edition (co-edited with Audrey Church) -- published by ABC-CLIO (Linworth/Libraries Unlimited).

Some of his awards include Outstanding New Library Media Specialist (1999), Outstanding Media Specialist (2007) and the Peggy L. Pfeiffer Service Award (2007) all from the Association for Indiana Media Educators / Indiana Library Federation.  The library program at North Elementary School was recognized with the Blue Ribbon for Exemplary School Media Programs by the Association for Indiana Media Educators (2005) and the National School Library Media Program of the Year Award (2007) from the American Association of School Librarians. 

Carl has presented at numerous state and national conferences. He has served on advisory boards for several different companies as well as part of the committee that revised the Library Media Standards for the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in 2010.