16th Annual Longwood University Summer Literacy Institute: July 25-26, 2019

16th Annual Longwood University Summer Literacy Institute: July 25-26, 2019

Sponsored by the Reading, Literacy and Learning, and School Librarianship programs, College of Education and Human Services and College of Graduate and Professional Studies

Don Tate 

Thursday Illustrator and Concurrent Sessions 

Don Tate is an award-winning illustrator of numerous critically acclaimed books for children including Whoosh! Lonnie Johnson’s Super-Soaking Stream of  Inventions, Hope’s Gift, and many others.

He is the author of Poet: The Remarkable Story of George Moses Horton and It Jes’ Happened: When Bill Traylor Started to Draw.

Don is a founding host of The Brown Bookshelf and a member of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign.

Learn more about Don.



Colby Sharp

Friday Workshop Presenter

Colby Sharp, a fifth-grade teacher in Parma, Michigan, is the cofounder of Nerdy Book Club and Nerd Camp Picture of Colby Sharp, SLI 2019 workshop presenterMichigan. His first book, The Creativity Project, was published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers in the spring of 2018, and his second book, Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids coauthored with Donalyn Miller, was published by Scholastic in November 2018. 

Learn more about Colby.


Gary Schmidt

Author Banquet Speaker and Concurrent Sessions 

Gary Schmidt is a professor of English at Calvin College in GrandRapids, Michigan. He received both a Newbery Honor and a Printz Honor Picture of Gary Schmidt, SLI 2019 Featured Speakerfor Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy and a Newbery Honor for The Wednesday Wars. He lives with his family on a 150-year-old farm in Alto, Michigan, where he splits wood, plants gardens, writes, and feeds the wild cats that drop by.

Learn more about Gary