SPC Header

Longwood University's Student Philanthropy Council, formed in August 2019, is a group of Longwood students and peers who support the work of the Office of Institutional Advancement, serve as ambassadors for the University, and help to cultivate and enrich the culture of philanthropy that Longwood believes is central to the institution's longevity and growth.

The members of the Student Philanthropy Council are philanthropic-minded student leaders with a proven track record for serving the local and University communities, and who have a passion for advancing the alma mater.

Student philanthropists become alumni philanthropists—that is a widely-held belief at colleges and universities across America. The work of the Student Philanthropy Council is vital, and they believe deeply in involving students in the philanthropic process as the University strives to produce service-oriented leaders—what we call citizen leaders—who will give their time, talent and treasure to causes they are passionate about long after graduating from Longwood.

In addition to their regular meetings, the Student Philanthropy Council plans and executes Longwood's celebration around National Philanthropy Day (November 15th), takes an active role in stewarding donors through written messages, phone calls, and emails, and they serve as a welcoming face and helping hand at Office of Institutional Advancement events.

Meet the Council

Lydia Storey

Lydia Storey '24

Leadership Team

Kensington McLoone

Kensington McLoone '24

Leadership Team

Aliyah Abasy

Aliyah Abasy '25

Major: Nursing/Health Promotion Minor: Therapeutic Recreation

Grace Ashbrook

Grace Ashbrook '26

Major: Political Science; Pre-Law

Emily Bennett '24

Major: Nursing

Ryan Barnebee

Ryan Barnebee '24

Major: Elementary Education

Molly Brightwell

Molly Brightwell '25

Major: Business Administration - Finance and Management

Kayden Bunting

Kadyn Bunting '26

Major: Public History Minor: Communications and Anthropology

Becca Chung '24

Major: Nursing

Jaedyn Colon

Jaedyn Colon '26

Major: Biology, Pre-Med

Elyse Dvorak

Elyse Dvorak '26

Major: History

Meredith Foster

Meredith Foster '25

Psychology and Sociology double major

Megan Gammon

Megan Gammon '26

Major: Communication Studies - Public Relations Concentration

Trey Hicks

Trey Hicks '25

Major: Business Administration - Finance

Makayla Lewis

Makayla Lewis '24

Major: Special Education

Abby Livingstone

Abby Livingstone '25

Major: Nursing Minor: Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Cameron Lowry

Cameron Lowery '27

Major: Elementary Education

Abi Martin '24

Major: Nursing

Emma Mulholland

Emma Mulholland '25

Major: Communications - Public Relations Minor: Sociology

Gabby Mullins

Gabby Mullins '25

Major: Psychology Minor: Business Administration and Criminal Justice

Victoria Oakey

Victoria Oakey '25

Major: Nursing

Hannah Rayfield

Hannah Rayfield '26

Major: Sociology

Faith Thomas '24

Major: Nursing

Christina White '25

Major: Spanish PreK-12 Minor: History

Kara Wright

Kara Wright '26

Major: Psychology and Criminal Justice Minor: NeuroStudies

Carson Zabler

Carson Zabler '26

Major: Nursing Minor: Psychology


Penny Pairet

Director of Annual Giving

(434) 395-2927