Visit our Scholarships page to learn more and Apply. 

  • Bill Stuart Memorial Scholarship Fund, which is awarded annually to a Communication Studies major.
  • William David Stuart Leadership and Service Award for faculty, which is awarded annually to a faculty member who demonstrates outstanding leadership on campus. Teaching colleague and close friend, Dr. Pam Tracy, earned the first award in 2013.

Remembering Dr. Bill Stuart

Remembering Dr. Bill Stuart

Dr. Bill Stuart fundamentally shaped the Communication Studies program as the first faculty member hired when the major was founded in 2000. It was through Dr. Stuart’s guidance that central tenants of the program like service learning, client-based projects, and the undergraduate senior thesis were developed. He served as Chair of the Communication Studies department and was affectionately known as "Dr. Bill" and "Dr. B" by students.

Following his death in 2012, the Longwood community continues to grieve the loss of the encouragement, keen insight, and sense of humor that Dr. Stuart brought to Longwood. Alumni Andrea Polignone Justis (2008) stated Dr. Bill was "… so much more than a teacher to me. He was my mentor, inspiration, and friend. My experiences at Longwood would have been severely lacking if it weren't for him, and I would be a very different person today."

Dr. Stuart’s commitment to students, alumni, and faculty was evident in many ways. Today, we carry on this commitment in his name with these awards.