Foundation Board of Directors '22

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Longwood University Foundation, Inc. and meets at least three times a year. Public Directors are nominated to serve three-year terms. Additional information about the Board’s structure, committees, and the responsibilities of its members can be found in the Foundation’s Bylaws.


Robert ”Bob” Wertz, Jr. ‘85

Leesburg, VA
Foundation President

Tammy Bird Jones '81

Glen Allen, VA
Foundation Vice President

Eileen Anderson ‘83

Glen Allen, VA

Dr. Jennifer Apperson

Farmville, VA

Nancy Atkinson '82

Kill Devil Hills, NC

Joseph W. Bartholomew, III ‘96

Midlothian, VA

Megan Clark ‘05

Farmville, VA

Bonnie Davis '71

Colonial Heights, VA

Chuck Dowdy

Farmville, VA

Colin Ducharme ‘02

Virginia Beach, VA

Janie Wall Evans '67

Midlothian, VA

Michael Evans

Richmond, VA
Board of Visitors Rector

Jeris Johnson ‘88

Raleigh, NC

Troy L. Littles ‘84

Atlanta, GA

Joseph C. MacPhail III '96

Midlothian, VA

Paula McDonough ‘73

Chester, VA

John McGinn, Jr.

Virginia Beach, VA

George R. Melnyk, Jr.

Virginia Beach, VA

Julie Ramsey ‘93

Virginia Beach, VA

Dr. Charles "Chuck" Ross

Farmville, VA

Dr. Sue Saunders

Williamsburg, VA

N.H. "Cookie" Scott '72

Midlothian, VA
Board of Visitors Representative

Mary Thornton '88

Smithfield, VA


For questions about the Longwood University Foundation Board of Directors and their scheduled meetings please contact Cheryl Baggs at